My 2017 Kickstarter Resolutions

Standard

Well folks, 2017 is here.

In the spirit of starting anew, I have decided to kick the year off with something a little different from my standard posts. Many of us are familiar with the age-old tradition of making resolutions for the new year. We vow to eat healthier, lose weight, save more money, be happier, enjoy the little things, etc. Though many of those things are on my personal list of resolutions, I also wanted to make a list that strictly applies to myself and Kickstarter. For me, Kickstarter is a great way to support a variety of things I may not have otherwise even heard about. Whether it be board or video games, comic books, or wacky inventions, I have backed it all. So, I wanted to start the year by setting some guidelines and resolutions to follow when it comes to backing projects. Below are just a few things I will do my best to stick to:

1. Ask myself: Do I really need it? Do I really want it?

Sometimes it is hard for me to answer these honestly. I tend to over justify that I need/want something by saying how much good I would be doing by getting it, even if I am not wholly interested in it. For example, I love to support indie designers. Sometimes, even though I am not incredibly crazy about the game–like, I just think it’s okay, or I think someone I know would like to play it, maybe–I will back it at a minimum to get the final product. THIS IS BAD. It’s bad because I am essentially spending money on something I might never get any use out of, but because I am generally hell-bent on showing support, I back it anyway.

From now on, I will do my best to answer these questions honestly. Instead, I will remind myself that, as a blogger, I have so many other ways to help support projects, that don’t involve spending money unnecessarily.

2. You have enough comic books. Stahp it!

get-into-comic-booksOne of my biggest vices is collecting things. I collect comics, figures, music, games–the list goes on and on. I love backing comics on Kickstarter, I really do. They always come with awesome rewards, plus you get some bad ass stories to read. However, I have no damn room for them. Along with backing comics on KS, I also have a monthly subscription set up for at least 15 comics. That is a lot of comics to be getting each month, especially when you add to that what I back from KS. I literally have two full shelving units set aside for just comics. It’s bad y’all.

So, I hereby resolve to only back to complete collections I’ve already started (ex. Arcane Sally & Mr. Steam). I may be willing to break this later in the year to get something truly amazing, but for now I can share the comic projects I love through my weekly list, and that will have to be enough.

3. I don’t care how bad you want it, if you can’t afford to back it right now, don’t!

Wallet with no money insideThis is probably my biggest one to work on, and essentially requires me to stick to numbers 1 & 2 religiously.

Again, I really love to back stuff on KS. So much cool stuff, so much wow. All that “wow” really hurt my wallet this year. I think once I started my blog, I got so carried away with KS, that I was spending way too much on it. Apart from all of the busy life things going on, between the holidays and launching Expedition Prototype Con (I will make an official post about this later this month), I have really slowed down on my KS usage. You may remember from my post about Feudum, that I deemed it the last game I would back for the year. True to my word, it was, and my wallet is sighing in relief.

One of the things I really need to work on is budgeting what I want to spend on KS for the month/year, and sticking to it. This is where #1 comes in. If I can stick to that, I can save a substantial amount of money. This may mean only backing one game per month, or setting a hard limit on spending in general. Not spending money on as many comics will also help substantially. Either way I NEED TO DO IT.

Here’s where I want to pose a little question to all of you, what strategies do you use to budget for KS? Do you have a criteria that you follow for the projects you back? If you have any solid advice, I will gladly take it, so feel free to leave a comment below.

So, That is my list of Kickstarter resolutions. I’m going to do my best to stick to them. I honestly think these will be a hell of a lot easier than the personal resolutions I’ve made. In a perfect world I could stick to it all with no issues, but if 2016 taught us anything, the world is far from perfect. For now, I will just do my best.

On that note, I hope all of you have a wonderful new year, filled with love, laughter, and success!


Do you have any Kickstarter related resolutions for 2017? Feel free to share below, I’d love to hear them!

 

Leave a Reply

